1985 Jeep CJ-7 with a Carbureted 4.0L Inline Six

Ok, here is my situation.  i am new to the the jeep owners world.  I have wanted a cj since I was 13 yrs old and I finally got one about 2 months ago.  I bought an 85 cj7, it has a 2.5 l 4 cyl with a t4 transmission.  I bought it with the expectation of putting in a different motor and trans, however,  what I did not count on was how much body work I would end up having to do.  The body work has taken a huge chunk out of my budget for the motor.  A buddy of mine gave me a 4.0 out of his 88 comanche.  the engine ran but had been sitting for 7 yrs and all of the seals leaked, including the main seal.  My original plan was to use this motor and carburate it since I don't have all of the parts for the fuel injection and I want to keep it as simple under the hood as possible.  My question is, would this be possible and could i use the existing motor mounts. Also, what else would I have to do to make this work?  Any help on this would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

There are definitely people that run 4.0 with carburetors. I know a few folks on another forum have done it.  My CJ has a 4.0 with the MOPAR fuel injection kit.  It started life as a carb'd 258, then got the EFI kit.  When the original 258 blew up, they just put a junkyard 4.0 in it and reused the MOPAR EFI kit, as it was built using 4.0L parts to begin with.  Weird, but it works pretty much like a standard 4.0HO EFI engine.

I understand your money situation.  My project seemed to grow at every turn.  I personally wouldn't want the hassle of a carburetor swap on a 4.0, and I've read some argue the engines were built around EFI.  I'm not sure I buy that idea, as the 4.0 is nothing more than an evolution of the original 258 anyway.