Choosing a Shop for a 48RE Transmission Rebuild

Cumminsfan98

Hey guys, new to the forum but I follow the magazine. I apologize if this is the wrong thread to post but looks to me like there's knowledgeable members in this thread all talking about the 48re so seems fitting. Anyways, I have been having a very similar issue with the 48RE in my truck and it recently went kaput and the sad thing is I didn't even have any mods on the truck other than just an intake and exhaust and I don't plan on increasing the power anymore than it's at now. I found a remanned 48re here, https://reman-transmission.com/transmission-codes/?code=48RE, for only like 2.5k which is cheaper than anyone around here will even rebuild mine for but it seems too good to be true. Does anyone have experience with these guys transmissions or have an online transmission rebuilder that's trustworthy? Interested your opinions out there

• Administrators

Cumminsfan98...Well, I have no experience with this rebuilder but was surprised to see the thoroughness of their rebuilding process at this price point.  The price does include hard parts as needed and not just a rebuild "kit".  The warranty, especially for a 48RE, is longer yet presumably comprehensive:  read what's covered, for how long and whether there is a prorated charge for the accrued vehicle mileage at the point of a failure.

There are some caveats like shipping free only if you have a commercial site and core waived—only long enough (30 days) to receive your return core.  The description looks good to me;  however, I suggest reading the Trustpilot reviews at the site.  If this business is part of "Car Part Planet" as implied, the reviews are mixed despite the 4.5 average overall (which is actually very good/excellent for the automotive field).  Read the reviews and interpret them.