I'm at my wits end troubleshooting my lil 2.5L engine.  I googled and found your page from about a year ago.  1990 jeep wrangle 25l engine timing.

Today I thought about timing.  It misses, like running on only 2 cylinders when at low speed and and only pulling slightly.  As I move into mid and upper rpm range it stops missing.  I still do not have much acceleration but at least it stops missing.  I've check and/or changed every sensor it has.  TPS is only rough since I have not gotten my laser tach to work yet.  

In checking fuel I have only 10 psi so I know that's a problem.  This started about a month after the SMOG guy changed the O2 sensor to pass smog.  I've check the voltage when hot and it's within spec.  I also had massive exhaust gasket leak so I cleaned the surfaces and replace the gasket.  

I'm a machine mechanic from way back in the Navy so I'm not just a new mechanic.  I just can't quite figure this one out.  I'll check timing tomorrow.

Lowell

• Administrators

Lowell, sounds like you've approached this logically...From what you describe, I'd start by remedying the fuel pressure and flow issue first.  If you haven't changed the fuel filter, try that before adjusting the fuel pressure regulator or performing any other fuel related work.  Make sure there is adequate fuel flow to the TBI unit and fuel return to the tank without any restriction.  Fuel volume is as important as fuel pressure.  Make sure there is sufficient volume.

The O2 sensor does raise questions, even if within spec hot.  I would check the O2 plug lead connections carefully and remove the sensor to see if its tip is contaminated or damaged.  If anti-seize got on the tip or you used a gasket sealer that sloughed off into the O2 sensor, this could be your problem and cause for strange performance.  The O2 sensor is sensitive to solvents and sealant compounds that are not approved for use around an O2 sensor.