Jeep YJ 2.5 Wrangler - Rebuilding Dana 35 Axle

Hi All,

I've started this new topic as a result of my last nightmare, I mean, topic.  Due to budget limits I have purchased a used Differential for the dana 35 and am going back to my regular size tires.  You can see in the link below why this all came about.  I've never done this repair but I have done a lot of DIY on my Jeep with good success.  I'm looking into youtube and the forum for suggestions plus Moses is here with professional advice.  

I plan on starting tomorrow, just waiting on other parts.  Feel free to add suggestions.  Thanks.

• Administrators

For those setting up a Dana 35, read my February 26th reply at our exchange.  I get into some of the critical Dana 35 concerns, especially the pinion bearing preload and using care when torquing the pinion nut with a new crush sleeve:

Moses

• 2 months later...

Sorry for being so slow but life happens.  Had to tend to priorities and the Jeep was left for last.

So I studied a lot of ring & pinion documents, videos and I got a copy of YJ factory service manual on-line.  Hard to find but thanks to the Youtube channel Redneck Garage you can download it here:

To me its practically rocket science.  But if you have time and take it slow it is definately learnable and doable.  As Moses points out the crush sleeve is very important (I ordered 2).  I bought the following used parts:

1 Complete Carrier with ring, pinion, bearings, c-clips and shims.

I bought new parts too:
 1. Seal
 2. Outer bearing with racer
 3. Shim kit for pinion
 4. (2) crush sleeves
 5. Pattern paint for the ring
 6. Dial indicator tool to measure backlash