Jeep CJ T5 Transmission Shaft/Bearing Wear

I posted a few months ago about transmission options for my CJ-7.  I was leaning toward swapping in an AX-15, but it seems like a pretty pricey and involved swap.  I decided to just get a rebuild kit for my T-5 and get back on the road.  It lasted for 33 years with poor gearing (3.31) and 33" tires for most of it.

Unfortunately, I pulled it out today and found significant side play on what I believe are the input shaft (clutch shaft?) and the main shaft.  I'm going to post a brief video for clarification.  I've been told that the input shaft of this transmission is prone to wear, as it is a two part design.  I'm a complete novice at gearbox work, and I'm hoping to learn something, so fire away.

My primary questions:

1. Is the play seen here normal (I can't imagine it is)?

2. Is this likely to be solved with new bearings, etc. as found in a master rebuild kit?

3. I can get a rebuilt T-5 for $850 or a used AX-15 with the bellhousing from the proper year of TJ for $500.  What would you do?

IMG_2183.MOV

• Administrators

60Bubba...For some reason, the short video won't open.  Do you have this in .mp4 or .m4v format?  The story goes that QuickTime is not supported by Apple any longer, not sure whether this is the issue, but .mov is not in my Microsoft Media Play default list.

As for the input counterbore to mainshaft nose end play, you need to check for wear at the counterbore (back end of the input gear) and the front/nose of the mainshaft.  If these parts do not have significant wear, the play on your work bench could be the input gear front bearing wear and the input/clutch gear not being supported at the crankshaft pilot bearing.