Institution providing part time welding training ?

Hey guys, recently I have applied for a job in a famous firm in Ontario and the job requires me to learn basic modules of welding. I have a diploma in electrical engineering and I’m looking out for a board certified welding training centres in Toronto. My friend has suggested me to consider Weldtech training center in Ontario. I’m planning to do the course as part time. So I’m afraid whether they admit students who want to do the course in part time. Has anyone ever done any course there ??

Edited by Emily

• Administrators

Hi, Emily...I am familiar with welding processes and training, having instructed the technologies (automotive, diesel and welding).  I also served as the Director of Vocational Training for the Rite of Passage programs and worked closely with college level technical training as a board member for Tech Prep at Western Nevada (Community) College.  We I-CAR and AWS certified our welding students through the WNCC (now WNC) welding program. 

I took a look at Weldtech's website.  They have all of the credential targets in place...I gleaned this statement from the Weldtech site:

"Benefits of Training at Weldtech:
Instructors are all CWB, TSSA, AWS, Certified and are Journymen Red Seal Welders.
Welding Courses are tailored to meet your needs.
Class sizes are small allowing for one-on-one instruction.
Weldtech Training is an accredited Test Centre for AWS, TSSA, CWB and I-CAR
Weldtech is a Registered Private Career College with the Ministry of Training Colleges and University under the Private Career Act of 2005"

For your purposes, I liked Weldtech's emphasis on corporate training and certifications.  Like any other program, you need to confirm the school's reputation.  Check accreditation bureaus and business bureaus or reviews online.  Talk to graduates.