Gremlins in Jeep CJ Fuel and Temperature Gauges

Please help,

I need some help on a nagging issue. I have been messing with my fuel & temp gauges for a few years and cannot get them to work right. I have replaced the fuel-sending unit twice. I have replaced the temperature-sending unit 3 times. I have replaced the gauges several times. The last time I worked with Omix (the manufacturer of the gauges) directly to help solve the problem. They said it must be a ground issue and sent me a whole new speedometer, odometer and new gauges. This did not work either.

One set of gauges caused the ignition fuse to blow (that was a whole chain of repairs and investigation to learn that it was a fuse that would not let the Jeep start. I thought I had really done something bad). The second set worked well for a day and a half then the temperature gauge started to surge to hot. Then it would just jump straight and fast to hot. I started the motor the next morning for the first time and it snapped right to hot. It was off the gauge and looked like it was pressing against the needle stop. The fuel gauge continued to work correctly. Once the motor was stopped, the temperature gauge only returned to the middle of the gauge and is now stuck in that position. When I restarted the motor, neither gauge worked at all. I could get them to work intermittently by messing with them, but I have never been able to get them to work right or faithfully.

The wires are good coming from the fuel-sending unit. That ground is good. The symptoms do not correct when I run a new wire to the sending units. It has to be a ground or short somewhere or the company keeps sending me defective gauges. I have bought or replaced them about 5 times. Is there another company that sells these that work? Is there a magic trick to getting them to work? I want to bang my head on the dash to get them to work.

I really need help on this one. I would love to know how much gas I have during trips.

• Administrators