Good afternoon, I'm looking for information about all that we should know before servicing an axle. I'm not an experienced mechanic, so I like to investigate before mess it up.

Which one will be the best fluid to fill up the differential? I've read about API GL-5 and 75W-90 specs for this. I've also read about a limited slip differentials and an additive to be required for that one.

So, how can we identify the axle that we have, starting with this, I've read that the D35 has a plastic plug. But mine has a threaded one. What things can we look for, to identify the D35 and D30 axles?

How can we identify or distinguish the limited slip one?

Thanks in advance.

Alberto.

• Administrators

I have always liked Mobil synthetic products.  However, for our 1999 Jeep XJ Cherokee Dana 30 and Chrysler 8.25" axles with ARB Lockers, I use Mopar 75W-120 synthetic gear lube.  I use this same lube in the 9.25" and 11.5" AAM axles in the 2005 Ram 3500 4WD truck.  75W-90 synthetic would also work well in either of these applications, though I prefer the 120W equivalent protection during our extreme high desert summers. 

I agree with nbruno about Mobil 1 gear lube, too.  Whatever is readily available in your area would work.  One caution with any synthetic conversion on a high mileage axle:  The "false seals", actually varnish, on the pinion and axle shaft seals can wash out from the high lubricity and viscosity of better synthetic lubes.  Seals begin to leak... 

I use synthetic lube on newer units and axles I rebuild.  Use your judgment if the Wrangler looks like it still has original (25 year old) OE seals.  If the lube looks and smells like conventional 75W-90 or straight 90W gear lube, I would stay with conventional oil until you either reseal or rebuild the axles.  You could use a quality 75W-110, 85W-120 or other viscosity variations—but use the conventional, non-synthetic gear lube version for now.

My view...

Moses

• Administrators