Geo Tracker Starting Gremlin

Good morning! So glad I found this group. I'm a noob with a starting problem. I have a 93 Tracker 4wd, 5spd, 8v, 140K with a starting issue. Engine was rebuilt 10k ago. When leaving Lowe's, the Tracker wouldn't start. It ran fine while driving there. It's newer to me and has worked great up until this point. The fuel pump quit working but now it's developed another starting problem. It's has new plugs, wires, fuel filter and pump, ICM, injector and other parts. There is fuel getting to the injector and plenty of spark but still wont start even though it cranks well. All of the fuses are good and there isn't any codes being thrown aside from 12 (normal). It will start with test fuel added through the TBI. When trying to start it, it will flood out rather quickly. Actually have had to pull the plugs due to too much fuel in the cylinders preventing turnover. My mechanic buddy is scratching his head as to what the issue is. The Tracker won't talk to his Solus scanner or his older "brick" scanner. He disconnected the battery for a while and it started up for a few seconds then died.  My buddy is thinking that the new injector isn't pulsing but rather just shooting a constant stream of fuel into the TB. He's wondering if the injector isn't getting the correct signaling. The ECM is working correctly and timing is correct.  He is thinking the distributor pickup isn't sending the correct injector pulse to the injector? Any help you or suggestions you guys may have would be greatly appreciated to prevent blindly throwing new parts into it.

Thanks, 

Jon

Hello, and welcome!

Hm, I've never encountered a fueling issue such as you describe, but, from the sounds of it, your friend is likely on the right track.  If it's hydro-locking, it's absolutely getting too much fuel, for whatever reason.

Keep us updated!

• Administrators