Hi all I'm new here. I have a 2000 XJ and I am having some problems with the door locks. As soon as the battery is connected the doors lock. Also when the key is inserted into or removed from the ignition switch the doors lock. Lastly, when the headlights are on, when you push the plunger in to turn off the lights the doors immediately lock. The doors can only be unlocked manually. Not with the remote or the power switch in the jeep. The jeep has recently had an ignition switch and headlight switch installed but I can't seem to find the issue. It has a viper keyless entry and remote start system but I removed the viper module and the problem persisted. I have ordered a new master door lock control but I don't think it's the issue. Any suggestions? I'm an electrician by trade but I'm racking my brain on this one 

• Administrators

LS2 XJ...Barring a wiring short between wires in a harness, which I'm sure you have considered, this sounds like the driver's side door lock switch.  These door switches are notoriously troublesome.  At mileage, I have replaced both front door switches.  In each case, I sourced the new switches online at Amazon.  The offshore pieces were both affordable and have held up well.  The costly factory replacement parts would last no longer.

You could try narrowing down the issue by unplugging the connector at the driver's side switch.  See whether that in itself stops the locking issue.  It should.  You can jump connections to narrow this down further, but the likelihood of the switch being defective is clear.

Let us know if this is the fix.  Beyond that, there would be wiring harness concerns like parallel wires with burned insulation, shorting and creating the symptoms.

Moses

• Moses Ludel changed the title to 2000 XJ Cherokee Door Lock Problems