New to Jeeps and what do you think?

Hello everybody,

My name is Jordan, and I am new to the Jeep world. Although I am new to Jeeps, I have been wrenching on old and new muscle cars. I purchased my first Jeep, an '82 CJ7, a few weeks ago. I am hoping to be able to do a little off-roading and enjoy the Jeep with the family. The engine starts and everything, but I didn't drive it home and had it towed.

Unfortunately, I performed a compression test and the results were not good at all. Two cylinders came back with low compression, and one was dead. I performed a wet test on the dead cylinder and the needle jumped right up. I stopped there and just gave into the fact that the rings are bad. I was planning a trip to Yosemite for my wife's birthday in November in the Jeep, but I am not sure it will happen.

I have been thinking about rebuilding the 4.2, or going down to my local Pick&Pull and pull a 4.0 out of a Cherokee and possibly just rebuild that.

What would you guys suggest is the quickest and best solution overall?

CJ7.jpg

Jeep underside.jpg

• Administrators

Hi, Jordan...Looks like a good and highly original find.  '80-'86 CJs with the Dana 300 transfer case are a good place to start.  If you take the time to do a cylinder leak down test, you can pinpoint the cylinder pressure loss.  A leak down test on a static engine with each piston at TDC on its compression stroke is far more reliable than a cranking compression test.  There's much discussion at these forums regarding a leak down test.  Try "leak down" or "leakdown" in the search box.

For a rebuild, I would keep the 4.2L crankshaft and find the 4.0L you describe.  A 4.6L stroker would be a solid upgrade.  Again, we have covered the 4.6L stroker buildup both here and at the magazine site.  You can get buildup, tuning and other insights with a search box entry of "4.6L" at either these forums or the magazine site.