First, a little background. I am not a mechanic, nor am I exceptionally knowledgeable about engine repair, and certainly not restoration or replacement. I have a moderate level of experience with automotive repairs and know my way around a toolbox. I have little limitation in finance and time. Now, for my question.

Essentially, I'm just wondering how possible/practical it is to fully restore a somewhat older vehicle. And i don't mean an engine rebuild. I mean literally remove every piece and replace it with a new one. Every. Little. Piece. Regardless of price/time constraints, is it possible to do this? To literally have an old body/frame but entirely new vehicle?

If so, what are some potential difficulties/issues that may be present? How much would a project like that generally cost? Any tips or recommendations you might have for me as far as brands and such go? 

Thanks all for taking your time to help me out!

*Note: For some context/additional information, I'd like to complete this project on an old 1998 Jeep Cherokee Sport

• Administrators

Morales...I like it and am biased!  We have a 1999 Jeep XJ Cherokee.  My wife and I both believe in recycling or restoring a vehicle if the design and intrinsic worth of the vehicle is clear.  I believe that a 1998 Jeep XJ Cherokee Sport is clearly that vehicle!

Why?  When AMC/Jeep designed the XJ Cherokee and launched that compact SUV in 1984, the vehicle was groundbreaking.  I was actively in the midst of a 4x4 journalism career, and by 1987 had the opportunity to test the new 4.0L EFI upgrade of that 4x4.  The design and components in the XJ Cherokee have proven superior to most other makes and models, and the testimony is the XJ's typical 200K-250K lifespan without major work—if simply maintained properly and not abused.