1995 Jeep YJ Wrangler New Suspension Lift Creates Driveshaft Issues

I'm in a pickle.  

Had to install new shocks (both tore away from rear upper shock mounts..due to weak springs(?)..lower rear shock mounts also damaged) and leaf springs (which say a 2-2.5" lift).

Upon installing the springs, the output shaft from the rear pumpkin (I'm not a mechanic) pulled-out approx 1.5 inches (shiny..no dirt) and the shaft entering the front pumpkin, also pulled-out some. I drove yesterday and all kind of God-awful noises...not good.

I'm told the rear axle has to rotate towards the front of the jeep to push the shaft back into place. This can be done with shims? Any idea what degree shim would bring all into original alignment? I was told a couple options by a past professional rock climber....Manager of a NAPA Parts store locally:  One, lower transmission crossmember (skid plate) by no more than 1" and insert spacers if fixes problem.  The second option:  remove axle mounting perch, rotate axle towards front to re-seat shafts to original stock position and then re-weld perches in place.  I didn't think of asking about shims which might be the easy fix if lowering the crossmember doesn't work.  Yikes!  Thank you!

Vehicle Information: 1995 Jeep Wrangler YJ, 2.5 engine, 4x4

• Administrators

topher...Welcome to the forums...Understand that you've installed a 2"-2.5" spring/suspension lift on your '95 Jeep YJ Wrangler.  The distance between the transfer case input and output and the front and rear axle joints has now increased, and this did stretch the drivelines.  The rear driveshaft has a slip yoke at the transfer case end, that's the piece with the shiny new surface exposed.  The front driveline has a slip collar with male/female splines, and the collar has been stretched from the chassis/spring lift.  Here is a diagram of the stock front and rear driveshaft designs:  http://www.quadratec.com/jeep-replacement-parts/wrangler-yj/yj-drive-shafts.php.