Welding course help

Hello, 

I'm a machinist. I have been working for 3 years now. Usually my job is assembling machine parts. I have no experience in welding. I wish to switch job as I find welding more rewarding and challenging. I found a welding school near my place, but I don't know what course to select. Should I go for a technician course where I will learn all the aspects of welding or should I go for specific courses like stick or tig welding. I'm good with designing. So, help me choose a program.

• Administrators

Sundance...Your machinist background combined with welding, especially TIG (GTAW) process, would be very valuable in a creative and career way.  I'm not directly familiar with WeldTech as a training facility, I'm gathering that it is an on-campus, intensively hands on training?

The ratio of theory versus hands-on (20%/80%) is actually valuable.  You need both, but hands-on is essential for welding, a hand to eye coordination craft.  You want to speak with former students to see whether they were employable, could pass certification welds, and could hit the ground running in a work environment upon graduation.

The tuition is not exorbitant if the school can deliver.  You need to ask for several references, former students with a track record after training.  Ultimately, it's up to the individual trainee if the program is worthwhile.  I taught, and the same curriculum produced skilled aircraft level weldors while others worked in I-CAR body shops or building trailers. 

The three types of welding would be better than just TIG.  You also want to learn oxy-acetylene welding and brazing.  One career angle would be tool and die repair and fabrication.  Or anything else that involves welding!

Moses

Thanks a lot Mosses for your kind advice.

My inquiry found that the school is giving good training and placement assistance. As you said, I will opt for complete technician course, so It can give me a wide career options.