How to Loosen a Dana 300 Input Shaft Retainer/Support

Newbie here. Searched this site (and every other site I could find) on how to remove the input shaft retainer on the dana 300. I went ahead and removed the hex bolts, but everyone says "there are slots for assisting in prying it off,"  . . . . sorry, but not on mine (1980 shortie. Has part #300-360-1 stamped on it). Any suggestions on how to get it started/break seal without scoring up the retainer or mating face?

• Administrators

Pjeds, welcome to the forums!  In my Jeep CJ Rebuilder's Manual: 1972-86 edition, I show the removal of the front input shaft retainer/assembly.  You're not just removing the retainer.  It comes out with the bearing, input shaft gear and shaft, all part of an "assembly".  This is actually considered a unit sub-assembly when you rebuild the Dana 300.

So, unless the shaft or gear is binding or under side load, the assembly should slide out once the seal is broken between the retainer and main case.  There is no paper gasket on this retainer/bearing support, and I fully respect your concern about not scraping the aluminum with pry tools.  To break this seal, I would use a metal putty knife with a sharp edge, placing the sharp edge toward the iron case.  Lightly tap the putty knife handle end with a sand filled head plastic hammer.  Keep the edge in the gap of the retainer/support.  Go around the piece evenly, a small amount of force at a time. 

This will separate the sealer bond, and that's all you're doing at this stage.  You should see a gap forming between the retainer and case.  This means the seal is broken.  If the retainer still has resistance, move to a thin scraper tool.  K-D and others make these with a wedged scraping end and relatively thin body.  You're using the ramping effect of the wedge shaped cutting edge...