After watching your videos I decided to look at a 1998 Jeep TJ Wrangler. My concern since i have no knowledge of the vehicle is how to scrutinize and assure it is a sound vehicle.

Background on the vehicle:

1) The Jeep has a new 2.5 4-cylinder in it, not sure what that means, whether a rebuild or remanufactured?

2) Has 138,000 miles, 5 speed manual no mention in ad of new transmission parts.

3) 1998 black Jeep Wrangler TJ 2.5 with a 5 speed manual with 3,000 miles on the new motor.  New motor put in over the summer (has receipts).
4) 4-inch suspension lift, 1.25 inch JKS body lift+ 1 inch motor mount lift

5) Swing out tire carrier bumper
6) Aftermarket stereo and speakers
7) Aftermarket rims and 31x 10.5 inch tires+ full size spare
8) Aftermarket adjustable track bar
9) Newer shocks and steering stabilizer
10) Aftermarket sway bar links
11) Heavy duty lower front control arms
12) Cold air intake
13) Windshield mounted fog lights
14) Bumper fog lights
15) Custom differential guard
16) Full skid plates
17) Custom lockable center console
18) Tinted turn signals and tail lights (to legal specs.)
19) New water pump, spark plugs, hoses, coolant flush and all new gaskets and seals put in with new motor
20) Hardtop with tint
21) Undercoated frame (prevents rust)
22) Clean title!
23) Paint on hood is chipping a bit but mechanically everything works great.

My last question:  What aftermarket products are critical to inspect for damage? I noticed a MOAB sticker on back window and I'm not very astute or have much knowledge on what to look for!  Any guidance would be greatly appreciated!

Papaobewon

• Administrators

Hi, Papaobewon, thanks for posting your first topic!  You have given us all an excellent opportunity to discuss the concerns around buying a used Jeep TJ Wrangler and aftermarket equipment.